Home Pro Chancellor

Professor (Dr.) S C Saxena

Dr. S C Saxena has taken over as Pro-Chancellor of JIIT Noida wef. 14 June 2021. He is also Pro-Chancellor, Jaypee University, Anoopshahr, Member of GC, EC & AC of Jaypee University of Engineering & Technology Guna and Jaypee University of Information Technology Waknaghat.

Dr. Saxena has been Director I.I.T. Roorkee (June 2006 – June 2011), former Mentor Director I.I.T. Mandi, former Director Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology (TIET) Patiala (June 2002 – May 2006), Director Thapar Centre for Industrial Research & Development (January 2004 to May 2006) & Vice-Chancellor of Jaypee Institute of Information Technology (JIIT, Noida) (July 2011 - June 2021).

Dr. Saxena was born on 22nd March 1949 and is having an outstanding academic record and obtained his B.E. Electrical (1970) from Allahabad University, and M.E. Electrical (Meas. & Inst.) (1973), and Ph.D. Electrical (Biomedical Engg.) (1977) from I.I.T. Roorkee (erstwhile University of Roorkee).  He joined on the faculty of Electrical Engg. Deptt. of  I.I.T. Roorkee in 1973 and rose upto the level of Professor, Head of Deptt. and Dean.  He has guided 28 Ph.D. Theses, 75 ME/ M.Tech. / M.Phil Dissertations, over 100 U.G. Projects, published over 200 research papers, organized/ mentored over 30 conferences, edited 05 conference proceedings, written 06 monographs, organized 26 specialized courses for industry and handled 12 sponsored research schemes and was on Editorial Advisory Board of RITES Journal.

During his tenure as the Director, I.I.T. Roorkee, massive expansion of infrastructure, research facilities, laboratories upgradation / augmentation, ICT facilities and other services and starting of new academic programmes had taken place to accommodate 8000 students (nearly double) in Roorkee and Saharanpur campuses.  There was about 3.5 times increase in Ph.D. research scholars; about 3 times increase in research publications, sponsored projects and consultancy.  He got planned, developed and made functional Greater Noida Extension Centre, the third campus of IIT Roorkee.

He has received 18 awards/prizes/honours including Khosla Gold Medal and Cash award (2 times), President of India’s Prize, Jawahar Lal Memorial Award, K.F. Antia Memorial Prize, Sir Thomas Ward Memorial Prize, K.S. Krishnan Memorial Award; honoured in Oct. 2006 as ‘Outstanding Technologists’ by Punjab Technical University; ‘Pride of Uttaranchal’ in November 2006 by Dehradun Citizen’s Council; ‘Uttarakhand Ratan’ in April 2008 by All India Conference of Intellectuals,  received Corps of Engineers Prize in 2008, awarded for “Outstanding Contribution to Higher Education in India” in 18th Business School Affaire & Dewang Mehta Business School Awards in Nov. 2010 and honoured as “Eminent Engineering Personality” by IE(I) in 25th Indian Engineering Congress at Kochi in Dec. 2010.

He is a life fellow of the Institution of Engineers (India) and Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers; Life Member of Biomedical Engineering Society of India, National Institution for Quality and Reliability, Indian Society for Technical Education and Indian Society for Continuing Education.

He was the Chairman of Water for Welfare: Virtual Centre, Govt. of Uttarakhand; Chairman of Science and Technology Entrepreneurship Parks (IIT Roorkee & TIET Patiala), President Patiala Management Association, President of Indian Society for Continuing Engineering Education, Vice-Chairman of Governing Body of National Institute of Hydrology, Member of the Central University, Punjab.

He was the Independent Director Tehri Hydro Development Corporation India Ltd (May 2008 – April 2014) & Chairman of its Audit, Remuneration & Sustainable Development Committees, Chairman, NRC, AICTE (2008-17), Member Governing Council and Executive Committee of AICTE, Chairman of Board of Governors of HBTI Kanpur, Member of Executive Committee of Dr. APJAKTU, Lucknow, Vice-President of Bio-medical Engg. Society of India, Chairman-STEP (TIET) Patiala, President-Patiala Management Association, Chairman and also Secretary-Roorkee Centre of IE(I), Vice-President-Indian Society for Continuing Engineering Education, Chairman-Roorkee Chapter of Indian Society for Continuing Education, Executive Member-BOG of Punjab Council of Technical Education and Entrepreneurship Development, member BOG BIT Mesra, MNIT Jaipur, NITTR Chandigarh, Member of GB of GGS Indraprastha University, Delhi; BOG of UPES, Dehradun; and of several other Board of Governors/ Governing Councils/ Academic Councils.

He has made two educational films, is a trained motivational trainer, worked as an Expert at Military Technical College Baghdad, Iraq; Advisor at AICTE in 1994 and has widely traveled abroad and in India.